Thin Line Between Stupid and Clever

Opining on Whatever

If You Like Old-School Soul Music…

If you’re a fan of soul music from the 60’s and 70’s, you should definitely check out the new album by Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings, entitled I Learned the Hard Way.  I bought one of their albums, Naturally, a few months ago, and I have to say that I really like it.  Although I haven’t picked up I Learned the Hard Way just yet, I have listened to the entire album and I am definitely planning on getting it soon.  Check out this review from Paste, which I consider to be pretty spot on.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “If You Like Old-School Soul Music…

  1. For some reason I thought Paste no longer existed. Apparently I’m dumb.

  2. James S. on said:

    Well, I think it was on the verge of collapse, but it has managed to hang on somehow.

  3. I just listened to the first song and immediately bought this album. This is great

    • James S. on said:

      Yeah, I’m rapidly becoming a pretty big fan of this band. Although this newest album is supposed to be their best, I think their other albums are worth checking out as well- maybe just buy the individual songs you like from those albums on iTunes or something. I’m glad you like them though. They hail from Brooklyn, so you should go see them live sometime, because they’re supposed to be an amazing live band.

  4. Pingback: Song for the Weekend-April 16, 2010 « Thin Line Between Stupid and Clever

Leave a Reply

