Thin Line Between Stupid and Clever

Opining on Whatever

First Impression: Norah Jones New Album is Strange…and Good

Little Broken Hearts by Norah Jones
Released April 30, 2012

***Norah Jones came out with a new album last week. I’m listening to it for the first time while writing this post, so don’t expect any kind of in-depth review. This is really just my first impression. Here we go…

1. “Good Morning

Well, her voice is obviously still amazing. This is an extremely mellow song which fits perfectly with today’s hangover. Basically, I’m digging this.

2. “Say Goodbye

I love Spotify but words can’t express how much I hate their ads. Anyway, to the song. Appears that we’re kicking this song off with a little reggae vibe. It’s weird and I kinda hate reggae, so I’m not too sure about this one. Instead, lets turn our attention to how hot Norah Jones looks on the album cover. It makes me think of that Janet Jackson album cover with the guy holding her boobs. That was hot. This song kinda sucks.

3. “Little Broken Hearts

This one’s better. Has a dark sound to it. This album is really not what I expected though. I expect Norah Jones albums to come with a lot of piano and sexy singing. The piano seems to have vanished. I’m not sure how I feel about that.

4. “She’s 22

Oh, this one has some nice little guitar strumming to start it off. It almost sounds like an Elliot Smith song. That’s not always a good thing, but here it is. It also sounds like Norah is competing for a guy’s attention with a 22-year-old. He should pick Norah. Twenty two-year olds are annoying.

5. “Take It Back

Is that a piano??? Yes. Yes, I think it is! This is easily my favorite song on the album so far. It’s gotta a little swagger and nastiness to it. Really good song with a kick-ass ending. Let’s put a Spotify star on this one.

6. “After the Fall

Now we’re into a space music vibe. Yep, this is a type of music I just can’t stand. Next.

7. “4 Broken Hearts

Now we’re going with a countryish sound. I always thought that Norah Jones could’ve made the greatest country album of all time if she really wanted to. You know, something like Ray Charles’ Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music.She seemed destined for it. Now I’m not so sure, but this song is ok. Sounds like a Linda Ronstadt song. You decide if that’s a good or bad thing.

8. Travelin’ On

This one has a more traditional Norah Jones feel to it, minus any piano whatsoever. It’s a pretty song, but it’s also about to put me to sleep. Next.

9. “Out on the Road

This is another one I’m really enjoying. Musically it’s one of the more upbeat songs so far. Plus, I love songs about roads, or driving on roads, or hitting the road, or even highways and how life is like one. I don’t think it’s possible to have a bad song about roads. It’s like trying to find a bad song about drinking. You can’t.

10. “Happy Pills

Nothing pulls you into a Norah Jones album like a Spotify commercial for The Avengers. Anyway, this song’s got a nice beat to it. You could get away with playing this song in a club, if you were into that sort of thing. It does have me bobbing my head a little bit. I’m digging it.

11. “Miriam

The intro reminds me of the White Strips “We’re Going to be Friends,” which always makes me happy. Is there a happier song than “We’re Going to be Friends?” I doubt it. Anyway, this Miriam individual seems to have caused an awful lot of trouble. This is another one of those relaxing songs. The piano even makes a brief return toward the middle, which is always a good sign.

12. “All A Dream

Now we’ve even got a little funkiness going on. Norah Jones with a strong bass line and a slight dirty guitar sound. I like it, although it’s getting a little long. Maybe there’s a big payoff at the end, like a guitar solo or something. Nope, just humming. This song did not end as strong as it started.

Final First Impressions

If Norah’s voice wasn’t so distinctive, there is no way you would guess this was a Norah Jones album. This album’s weird, but also pretty cool. Not sure you would’ve said either of those things about her earlier stuff, as great as it was. I really enjoyed this first time through and will definitely be giving it a few more listens. There is some pretty interesting stuff here, and I’d probably listen to Norah Jones sing just about anything, so….

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

