Thin Line Between Stupid and Clever

Opining on Whatever

Search for the Best Pop Song of the 1990s: “Hey Jealousy” by the Gin Blossoms

This is one blog’s search for the definitive “Best Pop Song of the 1990s.” Ground rules can be found here. This will be done by analyzing these songs far more than any song, or thing, deserves to be analyzed. You can find similar posts here.

Next up:

“Hey Jealousy” by the Gin Blossoms
Released in 1993

Reached #25 on the Billboard Hot 100

Here we go:

Tell me do you think it’d be all right
If I could just crash here tonight
You can see I’m in no shape for driving
And anyway I’ve got no place to go

Going into this, I do not know a single name of a single member of this band. For that reason, I am going to refer to the character and everything related to this song as a singular Gin Blossom. Mr. Blossom is apparently homeless, wasted, and couch surfing. Mr. Blossom is pathetic.

And you know it might not be that bad
You were the best I’d ever had
If I hadn’t blown the whole thing years ago
I might not be alone

Wikipedia informs me that this song was actually written by the lead guitarist, who was fired shortly thereafter. Is it a good move to fire the guy who wrote your one big hit song even if he is an addict? I’m not so sure. Also, are you proud to tell people you are/were the lead guitarist of the Gin Blossoms? I’m sure it’s awesome in the moment, but would you advertise that now? Again, I’m not so sure. The Blossoms really have me thinking.

Where were we? Oh yea, Mr. Blossom is emoting about blown opportunities and blah, blah, blah.

Tomorrow we can drive around this town
And let the cops chase us around
The past is gone but something might be found
To take its place… Hey jealousy

Do not mess with the Blossoms.

I have never fully understood the chorus to this song. Why would the cops chase us around? Is Mr. Blossom a criminal on top of all of his other problems? I mean, sure, he’s an addict so he probably has a delicious rock of crack stuffed in his sock, but do the cops know this? Also, is jealousy a person or an emotion? If it’s an emotion, what is he jealous of? Like I said, I don’t understand this chorus. It’s almost as silly as asking five straight mostly rhetorical questions about a Gin Blossoms song that came out nineteen years ago. Almost.

And you can trust me not to think
And not to sleep around
If you don’t expect too much from me
You might not be let down

Mr. Blossom is also brain-dead, but faithful. If that doesn’t scream “take me back,” then I don’t know what would. If Jealousy taking him back will end this song, I’ll give her $100 to do it.

‘Cause all I really want is to be with you
Feeling like I matter too
If I hadn’t blown the whole thing years ago
I might be here with you

More blown opportunities. This song is catchy as hell, but the lyrics are just bad. Two quick verses that somewhat repeat each other followed by that mess of a chorus and then another verse which is really just the first verse again. Good thing there’s a raging guitar solo!!! Oh wait…

I am finding this video highly amusing though. It’s so 1990s. From the frantic camera in the beginning, to the different size frames, to the band’s look, this thing is 1990s overload. It really is amazing.

Unfortunately, the video is about the only thing I am enjoying here. When I listened to “Mr. Jones” on repeat while writing that post, I was completely digging it again and enjoying the nostalgia. Listening to “Hey Jealousy” just makes me glad that we had some good music in the 90s. This was not good music.

One last Wikipedia fun fact: this band formed in 1987 and are still together. That means that the Gin Blossoms have been a real thing for 25 years. TWENTY FIVE YEARS! They released their first album in 1989, making them eligible for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in two years. Think they’re in?

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Search for the Best Pop Song of the 1990s: “Hey Jealousy” by the Gin Blossoms

  1. “Mother We Just Can’t Get Enough”. New Radicals. That’s my pick. But Gin Blossoms were awesome.

  2. Pingback: Search for the Best Pop Song of the 1990s: Ground Rules « Thin Line Between Stupid and Clever

  3. Pingback: Sassy Sunday Summary | Hot Child in the City

  4. Mark Spain on said:

    Have you heard any other Gin Blossoms songs? I think you’re crazy for not liking this one but that whole first album “New Miserable Experience” was and is an incredible album and there are songs on it that are better than “Hey Jealousy” but it is still a good song as well. This is probably one of my top 5 favorite albums of that era! Everyone has their musical opinions and tastes but I gotta stick up for the Gin Blossoms, they are s great band!

Leave a Reply

